Anti-Hero

Today almost all the news in Japan shows one same news.  Today marks 70 years since Hiroshima’s atomic bombing. Yes, 70 years ago, on 6th of August 1945, an atomic bomb was dropped on the heart of the city of Hiroshima. Not only Hiroshima, but also Nagasaki.

 

DSCN1340

Since the morning, the news was telling about the ceremony held in Hiroshima. And almost all the news in the internet says the same.

DSCN1336

 

Ever since living in my home country, Indonesia, I’ve heard a lot of time about what happened in Japan during the World War 2, since my country also has a ‘connection’ with Japan during that time. And one of the most known is that after Japan got bombed by the US, Japan geats weak and so Indonesia gets their independence.

Yes, a bit satyrical, but Indonesia’s independence day is not that long after Hiroshima’s bombing happened. But hey, we got the independence! So I never thought that much about Hiroshima’s bombing.

But after I move to Japan, starting to read [Hadashi no Gen] manga due to one of my class, and go to Hiroshima myself few months ago, I just realized I was wrong all this time. It is something that I have to mind. Maybe not just me, but everyone.

DSCN1294 DSCN1307

I see in front of my own eye the [Genbaku Dome], one of the silent witness of the atomic bombing which is keep as it is so everyone sees what happened on the past. And just in front of the dome, there’s a river. Which on that time, 70 years ago, was filled with a lot of corpse from the atomic bomb victim.

DSCN1304

Maybe it’s just me, but I just get the goosebumps just by seeing the river. Imagining thousands of people dying there. Not just on the river, but also on the roads, on the bridges, everywhere.

DSCN1329 DSCN1330

And not so far from there, there is a [Peace Museum], where we can see the timeline of what’s happening on that time, and what happened after the atomic bombing, including pictures and stuffs left by the victims. To be honest, once is enough for me. I don’t want to go there anymore.

I can’t believe, how can someone be so heartless to drop that atomic bomb 70 years ago. Did they ever think of the victims? I can’t stop thinking of that. How many people died that day, have they ever think of it?

Yes, I hate war. I really hate it. It only brings sadness to the civilians.

And I think it’s right to put the dome as it is. So everyone can see what happened in the past. So noone do the same mistake again in the future.

And may peace come on earth.

That’s all for now. Sorry for a bit gloomy topic this time.

 

Sincerely,

Bena nDR

*All the pictures was taken by me during a trip to Hiroshima on June.

Leave a Reply

