Life is Good

Yahhoooo! \(=w=)/ Finally have the time to write again here. πŸ˜€ Tehehehehe…

So, yesterday, 2 friends of mine, Iru and Angel, from the same Japanese Culture Club in my undergrads university, Bandung Institute of Technology, come to Japan and visits Kyoto. πŸ˜€ So, I think, why not I accompany them? Well, meeting an old friend is always fun right? So, finally, me and Ryu decided to join the tour they were planning.. And sometimes gives some help on planning for how to go to their planned destination. . πŸ™‚ Tehehehe..

So, their plan was to go to Kinkakuji -> Ginkakuji -> Gion. At first they want to go to Kiyomizu Temple as well, but suddenly in the morning, they say they will skipped the Kiyomizu Temple and go to Shijo-Kawaramachi instead. Which gave me and Ryu a big question mark, since if they want to go to Gion from Ginkakuji, they will pass through Kiyomizu Temple. So why not go as well, right? πŸ˜€

And so, finally, the trip starts! (=w=)/

Since they go from their backpacker hostel, and me + Ryu go from our houses, we decided to meet at Kinkakuji (金閣寺) or known also asΒ Temple of the Golden Pavillion. Since we’ve already bought the 1 day Bus pass ticket the night before, we don’t need to go to the station, but instead can just take a bus at the bus stop near my house. πŸ˜€ When we arrived at Kinkakuji, the others are already entering the site. Since we’ve entered it before, we decided to wait at the snack shop and buy some matcha-vanilla soft-cream and matcha dango. It’s a yummy! πŸ™‚

DSC_0005_1000x1504Β DSCN9488_1200x900Β DSCN9489_1200x900DSCN9490_1200x900

Not so long when we were enjoying our soft-cream, Angel and Iru arrived. Apparently they were also with a few other persons: Rhe (Angel’s friend), Angnes (Iru’s little sister), Devid (Agnes’s friend which lived in Kyoto as well), and Firman (Iru and Angel’s senior at the undergrads, now living in Tokyo for Ph.D).

Since Devid also lives in Kyoto, he guide us to go for a lunch. He said, we’re going to have sushi! Hoh! (OAO) Ryu always said he wants to eat sushi, but he never had the time to eat some here in Kyoto (well, in Shizuoka, we always go to kaiten sushi near our house almost once in biweekly :p). We took a bus trip, and exchange bus once an go to the Kitaoji-Kitayama area. But since it’s still 11.15 AM, the restaurant hasn’t open yet. So, we decided to have a short visit to Kamo River go get a glimpse of the river and walk back to have lunch.

The restaurant name is Musashi Sushi, it’s a franchise kaiten sushi. The price is friendly in my opinion, 130 yen per plate. And all the plate has the same price. You can choose anything you want from the conveyor belt near you. πŸ˜€ I took Scallop Sushi, Fried Shrimp Roll, and Roast Beef Sushi. πŸ˜€

DSCN9504_1200x900 DSCN9507_1200x900

It taste not bad. If you want to try it, you don’t have to go far to Kitaoji-Kitayama. You can just go to Kyoto Station or Shijo-Omiya, they have another branch there as well. πŸ˜‰

After a short lunch (due to the heat, I can’t eat too much. I only eat 5 plates of sushi, albeitΒ when I’m during my health season, I can eat to 10 plates of sushi (=A=|||)), we decided to move to our next destination, Ginkakuji.

Ginkakuji (ιŠ€ι–£ε―Ί) or usually known as TheΒ Silver Pavillion, was located at the eastern side of Kyoto, while Kinkakuji was located at the northern part of Kyoto. Since we don’t have all day, we decided only going to Ginkakuji, but not the other places near Ginkakuji (there are a lot other interesting places near Ginkakuji, such as Philosopher’s Stone, Eikando Temple, Shinnyodo Temple and Nanzenji Temple).

DSCN9526_1200x900Β DSC_0014_1504x1000

Since this is my first time here, I was also excited to see the inner site. πŸ˜€ And so does Ryu. But of course, it didn’t stop us to take pictures. πŸ˜€ Tehehehe…

DSC_0022 DSC_0024Β DSCN9544_1200x900 DSC_0027 DSC_0030 DSC_0032 DSC_0037Β DSC_0040 DSC_0041 DSC_0043 DSC_0044 DSC_0049 DSC_0050 DSC_0054 DSC_0057 DSC_0063 DSC_0066 DSC_0067 DSC_0068 DSC_0074 DSC_0083 DSC_0091 DSC_0092Β  And it really was a nice place to take a picture. A bit different with Kinkakuji, Ginkakuji has more green area. πŸ˜€ Which makes me feel more comfortable. After all, I’m not a city person. (=w=)> And the green area makes me feel like I’m entering an ancient era of Japan. πŸ˜€

Finished taking pictures and sightseeing, we continue to our next destination, Kiyomizu Temple. But before that, we had a little bit sightseeing on the shops there.

DSC_0006_1000x1504 DSC_0011_1504x1000Β DSCN9553_1200x900

Somehow, we were pulledΒ into seeing a small shop which sells honey and fruit jams. When we tried it, it was so delicious! It gave me a sudden power to walk again! I recommend you to try one. The small pack which I bought price of 540 yen for 7 sticks. πŸ˜€ I recommend the honey-yuzu one. Although the other taste nice as well. πŸ˜‰

DSCN9552_1200x900 DSCN9630_1200x900

And so we continue our walk and somehow, I found the rock to the Philosopher’s Path! πŸ˜€ Too bad, we don’t have the time to check it out. Maybe next time, I’ll go there with Ryu. πŸ˜€ Of course, this time using yukata! πŸ˜‰ Fufufu..

DSCN9557_1200x900Β DSCN9561_1200x900

So, we were taking the route 100 bus. Luckily, I got the back seat, so I can take pictures easily. πŸ˜€ And somehow, I even get to take a picture of me n Ryu together. What a rare thing to have! \(>w<)/ Why? Somehow Ryu hates when someone take his picture. I wonder why.. ( ‘A’)a I also rarely got a good picture of him.. ( =3=)>

DSCN9514_1200x900

Oh, we also somehow pass trough several places I don’t know. But since it looks interesting, I decided to take a picture of it. πŸ˜€

DSCN9571_1200x900 DSCN9575_1200x900

And so, we arrived at the bus stop to Kiyomizu Temple. When we walk across the road to the temple, we found a small open room with [Kiyomizu Temple Tourist Information] written on it. And inside it, there’s this mascot which we can took picture with. πŸ˜€Β At first, I was a bit shy to take a picture with it. But seeing Rhe, I finally decided to do it! Since I’m with a legal tourist, why not do crazy stuffs only tourists will do. XD

DSCN9584_1200x900Β DSCN9585_1200x900

And so, the trip continues. πŸ˜€ We continue our walk, and at the middle, near the shopping district near Kiyomizu Temple, I decided to buy some sweets. :p What is it this time? A Houjicha soft-cream. πŸ˜‰

DSCN9592_1200x900

For those who don’t know, Houjicha (γ»γ†γ˜θŒΆ) is one of the famous product in Kyoto. πŸ˜€ It’s tea roasted on a porcelain using charcoal, which the technique was first performed in Kyoto. πŸ˜€ Therefore it’s one of the famous product you can found almost everywhere in Kyoto. πŸ˜‰ Try some! It tastes nice. πŸ˜€

So, we continue our walk, while I’m finishing my soft-cream since there’s a no-eating n drinking sign at the gate of Kiyomizu Temple. :p I’ve been here like 4 times, but still I still can’t help not taking pictures there. πŸ˜€ Tehehe.. Too bad, there are still a lot of area under construction. 😦 Oh, the entrance fee is 300 yen. πŸ˜€

DSC_0178Β DSC_0096 DSC_0097 DSC_0098 DSC_0099 DSC_0104 DSC_0107 DSC_0108 DSC_0110 DSC_0111Β DSC_0136 DSC_0137 DSC_0138 DSC_0139 DSC_0140 DSC_0141 DSC_0177

And of course.. A trip to Kiyomizu Temple means a trip to Kyoto Jishu Shrine. πŸ˜€ A shrine dedicated to the God of Love. πŸ˜‰ Famous for it’s lover stone. πŸ˜€ It was said that if you can walk from one stone to the other one with a closed eyes, you will find your true love. But if you need help on doing it, it means you will need help as well for you love relationship.

Believe it? Well, believe it or not, for me it’s interesting. πŸ˜€ Tehehe.. πŸ˜€

DSC_0112 DSC_0114 DSC_0115 DSC_0116 DSC_0117 DSC_0118 DSC_0120 DSC_0122 DSC_0123 DSC_0124 DSC_0125 DSC_0126 DSC_0127 DSC_0128 DSC_0131

And so, finished walking through Kiyomizu Temple, we continue our trip with a little detour to Higashiyama District, through Sannenzaka Steps. πŸ˜€ At one of the end of the road, you can see Yasaka Pagoda beautifully. πŸ˜€ And I recommended to take a picture there. πŸ˜‰ The shops are also nice. Maybe next time, I’ll spend some time walking on that area. πŸ˜€

DSC_0193Β DSC_0211Β DSC_0217 DSC_0220 DSC_0222 DSC_0236 DSC_0237

Next stop is Gion-Shirakawa (白川)! Ough! πŸ˜€

I’ve been there once with Ryu, but at that time, we didn’t know at all about Kyoto. We even only know about the name Gion, but didn’t know at all about the area and ended stressed out lost and decided to go to Kyoto station using taxi, since we don’t know the bus to take. (=w=|||) Hahaha..

But this time, it’s different! \(OAO)/ I know where Shirakawa is, and I know the area near Gion-Shijo. So it’s not that hard to find. πŸ˜‰

DSC_0245 DSC_0247 DSC_0248Β DSC_0253Β DSC_0265 DSC_0277 DSC_0280 Β DSC_0266

While we were walking around there, there are few couples using yukata taking pictures and such.Β Aaaaa.. I want to do it too!!! :< Maybe next time! :p

DSC_0252Β DSC_0264Β DSC_0281

Oh! And I also get to see stork from close! πŸ˜€ Lucky!

DSC_0269 DSC_0274

And so, the trip ended with a short visit to Teramachi, a nice dinner at Saizeriya Shijo-Teramachi, and a walk to Books-Off to find cheap books. πŸ˜‰

DSCN9621_1200x900

And with that, our adventure ended. πŸ˜€ After taking the guests to their hostel (K’s Backpacker Hostel πŸ˜€ Looks nice!), and take a picture (this one is me with Iru :D), we ended our trip today. πŸ™‚

It was tiring, but still.. Meeting old friends always bring fun. πŸ™‚ Especially when you live abroad far from others. πŸ˜‰

I guess that’s all for now. πŸ˜€ Don’t forget to visit Kyoto! πŸ˜‰

Jya~ne! πŸ˜€

 

Sincerely, Bena nDR

PS: Thank you for Iru n Angel who visits Kyoto and spend some time just to let me making chaos on the trip, and special thanks to Ryu for accompanying me on this trip. :*

Leave a Reply

