Snack All Night

Since I start living in Japan, one of my ‘hobby’ is going to a convinience store. As all people usually know, Japanese can’t live without konbini (short term for convenience store in Japanese). You can find konbini almost everywhere in Japan. The Japanese way of life (where they love convenience) makes konbini as something that is irreplaceable in everyday’s life. Maybe konbini is the same degree of need as vending machine in Japan. 😀

Coming from a country where konbini is not a common thing (although we also have mini marts in Indonesia, but it has a different concept with Japanese konbini), Japanese konbini is somewhat interesting. Once, when I’m still in the Japanese language school in Shizuoka, my teacher says about how Japanese sees konbini in Japan. 😀

Maybe not all know that there are a lot of konbini group in Japan: Seven Eleven, Circle K, Sunkus, Family Mart, Daily Yamazaki, Lawson, Mini Stop, etc. For some Japanese, usually girls, each konbini has their own specialties. For example, when they want to buy bento, they go to Seven Eleven. If they want to buy some sweets, they go to Family Mart. And so on. 🙂

As for me.. Why do I like konbini? Well.. The reason is simple. Some stuffs are sold only in konbini. For example, some of Hatsune Miku (for those who doesn’t know, search for Vocaloid on Google. If you found the green twin tail long haired girl, that’s Miku :D) products are sold only in Family Mart (due to some exclusive contract). The other reason is, sometimes some sweets or snacks can only be found in konbini. And of course, I often found interesting snacks sold in konbini. :p

Well, the snack I found lately interesting is Pocky and Pretz from Glico. Well, in Indonesia, if you talk about Pocky, the flavor maybe will only be chocolate, strawberry, chocolate banana and milk. But here in Japan, there are lot more varieties. They even have seasonal flavor. :O And when I go to konbini today, I found out they’re having a promo if you buy two Pocky / Pretz, you can get a special Pocky mini note.

I love Pocky. I love freebies. So yeah, you know the next. I ended up buying it. :p But I also bought other flavor as well, just to found out how it taste. So, here are the Pockys I’ve found these days. 😀 (I still have other flavor, but I forgot to took picture of it :p)

20131107-034551.jpg

Custard Pudding flavoured Pretz and Winter taste chocolate flavored Pocky.

20131107-034601.jpg

The Winter taste Pocky. I still don’t understand why the winter thingy. (O_O)a20131107-034609.jpg

Heart shaped (I really love this one) Double Berry flavored Pocky. 😀

20131107-034619.jpg

White Peach flavored Pocky.

And I guess there are still a lot lot more than this. 😀

Well, I guess that’s all from me for now. 😀 See you again in the next snack adventure. 😀 Jya~ne! :3

Sincerely, Bena nDR

Leave a Reply

