Flawed Design

Finally, I arrived at my 13th novel cover illustration πŸ˜€ 13 is one of my favorite number.. So I decided to put all the illustrations I’ve done here in my blog :p

I started as a novel cover illustrator around 2009.. When I’m on my Master program.. My first job was to make a cover for a local (Indonesian) novel titled [Eiffel Tolong] by Clio Freya. It was my first novel illustration and I never done any job like this before (my first book cover illustration job was for educational book which is different in my opinion :p).. So I do what I can and here’s what I drew.. But the bad part, I tried a new style of drawing.. Which.. Kinda effects the final outcome..

When I see the final artwork and send it to the publisher, I was kinda “Aaaw… I’m still notΒ satisfied with it..”, and unfortunately so does the editor and the writer. So they decided to ask for another illustrator on the next book. TTwTT A big loss for me..

This book was a big hit, and they even republished it few times. I must say, I was impressed with this novel. πŸ™‚ I hope I have the chance to make a cover for a big hit novel like this again. πŸ˜‰

My second job was to make another local novel cover titled [Be My Sweet Darling] by Queen Soraya. This time, I decided to go on my usual way of drawing. With light pinkish color and comical style. πŸ™‚

This time, I’m notΒ disappointed. In fact, I love how it turns out. πŸ™‚ I hope the editors does too. :p

My third job was to make a cover for a novel titled [Tessa In Love] by Kate Le Vann. This time, it was a translated book. πŸ™‚ Wow! My first translated novel job! XD I was kinda stressed out with the male drawing (I’m always weak on drawing males.. |||OTL), but I finally managed to draw the guy on the cover >_<|||

And so, this is how the artwork goes πŸ˜€ Not bad I think :p

My fourth novel cover job was for another translated novel titled [The Little Lady Agency] by Hester Browne. This book was interesting when I read it πŸ˜€ And I love how the simplicities shows on the real book cover. So I decided to make this one simple too. πŸ˜‰

And turns out, not bad πŸ˜€ And thank God, I guess the editors think so too. For my fifth job, I was given the task to do the cover illustration of [The Little Lady Agency]’s sequel, [Little Lady Big Apple]. And I gave it a simple image as well to show the connection with the previous book πŸ˜€

My sixth job was once again to make cover from Kate Le Vann’s novel titled [Things I know About Love]. I love how the picture turns out. I love the pink color, I love the character illustration, I love it all. This one is one of my favorite cover illustration. πŸ™‚

For my seventh job, I was so excited and so happy. Why? I was given a task to draw the cover of my favorite author, Meg Cabot’s novel. And this novel, [Size 12 Is Not Fat], is one of my favorite. I bought the untranslated bool just to read this one. πŸ˜‰

And I even happier, when the editor gave me the next job, which was the sequel of the novel, [Size 14 Is Not Fat Either]. Gosh~! I love this job! XD

After a few time of other business and hiatus on drawing, suddenly a friend of mine which is a famous Β author in Indonesia, Primadonna Angela, contacted me and ask me if I want to draw for her republished novel’s cover. Of course, I want it! XD She gave me the task to draw 2 of her novel: [Belanglicious] and [Big Brother Complex]. I love how it turns out πŸ˜‰

My eleventh and twelve job was to make a ‘legend’ novel cover. A novel titled [Love Story] by Erich Segal and it’s sequel, [Oliver’s Story]. At first I don’t know how famous this book was. But when I Β saw Johnny Depp’s Dark Shadow, I saw a scene where Johnny Depp was reading this book with the main heroine. So I was like “Holy cow! This book was famous!” Β And so.. This is how it turns out.. \(>///<)/

And finally, my thirteenth job. πŸ™‚ It was the final sequel of Hester Browne’s [The Little Lady Agency] titled [What The Lady Wants]. πŸ˜€ I was kinda confused when I make this illustration since I was so excited to make the tiara n stuffs but I don’t have enough time to make it. But thank God, it turns out just fine. πŸ˜€

And with that, my job as an illustrator finally has reached the 13th cover. And I realize, how I love drawing so much and can’t stop feeling happy and challenged to draw a book cover. πŸ˜€ So.. What kind of novel will I draw next? πŸ™‚ I feel so excited! XD

Well.. I guess that’s all for now. πŸ™‚ Jya~ne! πŸ˜€

Sincerely, Bena nDR

Leave a Reply

