Peanuts

Hello again 😀 Pfew.. It’s already February now.. And in here, it’s getting colder and colder.. (^w^)> Although I thought it was close to Spring now.. But unfortunately in Japan, February is the coldest during winter.. =__=a

Anywaaayyysss… In Japan, during this February, there are 2 most waited event. 😀 The first one was the well known Valentine’s Day on 14th of February. And the other one is Setsubun (節分) or Bean Throwing Festival on 3rd of February. It’s today. 😀

What is Setsubun? :3

Setsubun (節分, Bean-Throwing Festival or Bean-Throwing Ceremony) is the day before the beginning of spring in Japan. The name literally means “seasonal division”, but usually the term refers to the spring Setsubun, properly called Risshun (立春) celebrated yearly on February 3 as part of the Spring Festival (春祭 haru matsuri). In its association with the Lunar New Year, Spring Setsubun can be and was previously thought of as a sort of New Year’s Eve, and so was accompanied by a special ritual to cleanse away all the evil of the former year and drive away disease-bringing evil spirits for the year to come. This special ritual is called mamemaki (豆撒き) (literally “bean throwing”). Setsubun has its origins in tsuina (追儺), a Chinese custom introduced to Japan in the eighth century.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Setsubun

Well.. There’s supposed to be a Setsubun event held somewhere in my city where we can get a lot of snacks.. And I was planning to go there.. Unfortunately, I forget it was today.. |||OTL So.. I failed to go there.. And there goes my snacks.. TTwTT

Although I didn’t get the chance to experience setsubun, Ryu get the chance to do it on his class. ^^ And Since when I knew about it I feel kinda upset, he bought me peanuts snacks and almond chocolate (which then I use to throw it to him.. Hahaha..). \(^//w//^)/ Quite fun.. Hehehe..

But of course! Next year! I’ll definitely go to the Setsubun event! Yeah! >w< Wait for me next year! XD Hahaha…

Oh well, I guess that’s all for now 🙂 Must go to sleep. 🙂 Goodnight 🙂

Jya~ne!

 

Sincerely, Bena nDR

PS: The oni picture is not my drawing. I took it from google.com and here

Leave a Reply

