The Prayer

Hello everybody 😀 Hello world! 😀

Finally after a whole month fasting in the month of Ramadhan, Eid Mubarak or the 1st day of Syawal comes. 🙂 In this day, usually Moslem people pray together in a big wide place. It was called sholat Eid. 🙂

For people i my country, this day was very special. They usually celebrates it with their family in their hometown. That’s why in my country, there’s this tradition that always happened during Ramadhan, which is ‘mudik‘. To make it simple, ‘mudik‘ means going home to our hometown. So usually, people from big cities, go back to their hometown in the villages or another city far far away, where their parents or their grandoarents live. Too bad for me, I was born in the big city of Jakarta, so my hometown is Jakarta. And for my grandparents, they live in Jakarta too. So for me, ‘mudik‘ is like moving from one big city (Bandung) to another big city (Jakarta). Sometimes I feel kinda sad, bcoz I can’t experience what my friends experience (playing in the village, go to another small town, trip, etc). But having a big city as your hometown is not that bad either.

At times like this, I can see the other side of this big city of Jakarta 😀 The usually daily traffic jam in Jakarta wasn’t here for a while. 😀 And it was totally fun! XD We only need a minute to go from here to there (while the daily traffic in Jakarta took hours to go here to there x_x).

The other thing that was ‘a must’ in celebrating Eid in my country’s tradition was ketupat. 😀

What is ketupat? Let’s ask wiki. 😀

“Ketupat or packed rice is a type of dumpling from BruneiIndonesiaMalaysia, the Philippines (where it is known by the name pusô in Cebuano, bugnóy inHiligaynon, patupat in Kapampangan, or ta’mu in Tausug), and Singapore.”

Interesting, huh? 😀 Huehehehe..

People in my country usually make ketupat to celebrates Eid. Besides ketupat, there’s also opor ayam (chicken curry) and rendang as the side dish. These three are the roses of Eid. 😀 Some people even say, it’s not Eid if you haven’t eat ketupat. 😀

The other interesting thing about this Eid is how to decide it. 🙂 In Moslem, there’s this way on how to decide  when is the 1st of Syawal (since it’s not written clearly like the solar calendar). So every year, there will be this Itsbat meeting that will discuss about when is the 1st of Syawal, depending on how they see the moon. Yup, 1st of Syawal is decided on when the moon comes 🙂 Interestingly, this year’s Eid was a big chaos in my country.. ^^a

On 29th of August 2011 yesterday, untill 10 PM (GMT+7), the government’s committee hasn’t decided yet when we will celebrate Ied. Usually we’re having Eid on the same day as Arab does. But this year, it’s different. Indonesia is having Eid on 31st of August 2011. And it caused a lot of protest from Moslem people. ^^;; Hahaha.. But there is also people who celebrate Eid on 30th of August 2011 like the other country. 🙂 So, today (30 August 2011) was awkward. Some people are still fasting, while the others are eating. 😀

As for me and my family, we have no problem with it. ANd we stick with the government’s decision. 😀 We’re having Eid on 31st of August 2011.

And so, since we’re hoping to become pure again after this month, I just want to apologize for all the wring things I’ve done. 🙂 And may all prayers heard by God. Amen. 🙂

HAPPY EID MUBARAK EVERYONE! \(^w^)/

 

Happy Eid Mubarak everybody 😀

 

Owkaaaayyy.. I guess that’s all for now. 😀 Gotta sleep now since it’s late already. And tomorrow will be a busy day for me and my family 😉 Happy holiday, all! Jya~ne! 😀

 

 

Sincerely,

Bena nDR

Leave a Reply

