We Are Family

Hoaheeem.. Last week was tiring.. (=w=) But I also had a lot of fun..

Last week (or maybe it’s two weeks ago), me and my family went to go to Garut. In our tradition (Javanese tradition), there’s this tradition called munggahan. Munggahan is doing pilgrimage to our deceased family before fasting in Ramadhan. In my case, it’s my grandma and my grandpa. And my motherdid the same thing tool. That’s why we decided to go to Garut, coz there’s my great grandparents’s final resting place.

We started our journey around 10 in the morning, since Bandung – Garut takes around 2-3 hours. The participants of this trip was me, my parents, my aunt, my cousins, and my nephews. Two cars was used, and the party was split into two. In my dad’s car there were me, my parents, my aunt, and one of my nephew, Arya. In the other car, there were my cousins: Rina, Anggun, Ochie, her husband, Mada, and their son, Arier. Arya was also their son, since they’re the only one that have married (between the cousins in my family).

The trip was nice. At first I thought my nephew will be such an annoying kid (I’ve had a bad impression about this kid once. He took one ofΒ  my Sun Shan Xiang (from Dinasty Warrior) figurines collection =_=”). But then, the kid turns out to be a nice kid now. Well, people change, right? πŸ™‚ So, this kid then become kind of an entertainment in our car. ^^;;

We stopped for lunch at a Sundanese restaurant named Cibiuk. It was quite famous for the food.:) My recommendation was Cibiuk’sΒ nasi bakar.Β Nasi bakarΒ was one of Sundanese culinary made from flavored steamed rice which was wrapped with banana leaves then grilled. It taste nice. πŸ˜‰ For you who doesn’t like to much spicy, can ask the waiter for not adding the chilly slices into theΒ nasi bakar. Besides nasi bakar, we also ordered grilled gurame (carp) fish, fried gurame fish. and few vegetables, since Sundanese culinery’smost famous food is theirΒ sambalΒ andΒ lalapΒ (raw vegetables and chilly condiment). I don’t eat sambal though. :p

After lunch, the trip continues. Around 2 o”clock, we finally arrived in Garut. πŸ™‚ Before we go to the cemetery, we decided to take a visit to my grandpa’s sister. After a few chat, we continue our trip to the cemetary. πŸ™‚

The road to the cemetery was beautiful and nice. It’s just a small road between rice fields. You can see mountains and rice fields around it. The wind was nice and sky was blue with a little bit grey cloud. The rice fields was diverse, there are yellowish rice (which the rice grain was already cooked and ready to harvest) and the green rice fields. So beautiful.

Since the weather is not to friendly (it’s almost rain), we decided stay at the cemetery just for a short time, but enough for praying. πŸ™‚ Finished praying, we go back to my grandpa’s sister’s house.There, my family have a chat with her while I’m playing with her cats. She’s living by herself with a lot of cats. Her cats were cute. ❀

Finished chatting andΒ  stuffs, we decided to go back to Bandung,since it’s already 5 o”clock. But before going home, we visited Chocodot first.

What’s Chocodot? πŸ˜€

For people who doesn’t know about Garut, Garut was famous for their culinary namedΒ dodol. In Wikipedia it was said :

“dodol is a toffee-like sweet food delicacy popular in Indonesia. It is made with coconut milk, jaggery, and rice flour, and is sticky, thick and sweet. Dodol garut: dodols produced in Garut, a regency of West Java province, Indonesia. There are many variations of dodol garut. The most famous brands of dodol garut are ‘Picnic’ and ‘Olympic’.”

But for some people,Β dodolΒ is already ancient. So they create a new culinary called Chocodot. Chocodot isΒ dodolΒ covered with chocolate. It’s anew variant of culinary. And it’s quite famous for souvenir. And actually, Chocodot itself was a brand name. πŸ™‚

The Chocodot shop which we visit, named Saung Cokelat (means Chocolate Garden House), was a small shop at the side of the road. Although it’s small, the shop looks nice and neat. πŸ™‚ We can find a lot of type of Chocodot. They have spiced chocolate (chocolate with herbd in it), chocolate with fruit fillings, and the famous chocolate-dodol. πŸ™‚ Besides chocolate, they also sell another kind of souvenir like sheep shaped bag (Garut also famous for their sheep), clothes, sandals (Garut also famous for they’re leather stuffs), etc.

When I looked around, there’s also one thing that catches my eyes. A drink named Sarsaparilla. My dad bought few bottles (the bottle’s shape was cute), and I drink one. The taste was like root beer. And it was made by a local home industry in Jogjakarta. Whoaa.. From Jogjakarta to Garut. ^^;; Heuheuheu..

If you’re interested to visit Chocodot shop, they have a website you can visitΒ here. πŸ˜‰ They also have Google Maps on it, so you can get direction to go there. πŸ˜€ hehehehe

Finished ‘shopping’ we decided to go back to Bandung. Pfiew.. What a tiring day. x_x But of course, it’s also fun πŸ˜‰ Tee-hee πŸ˜€

By the way, here’s a few sneak peak of Garut and the Chocodot shop (+the chocolate I bought ;3):

Hmm.. I guess that’s all for now πŸ˜€ If you’re interested on trying Chocodot, feel free to visit Garut. πŸ˜‰ Jya~ne!

Sincerely,

Bena nDR

Leave a Reply

